SO SPANKING…

I’m hearing a lot of people commenting on spanking. Some are even going so far as to compare it to spousal abuse, which, makes it hard for me to keep my cool.

Full disclosure I spank my kids. It’s legal, I do it completely within the confines of the law, and yes, I have read Arkansas law on spanking.

Most of this is being ginned up by an article posted by Elizabeth Gershoff, who seems to have a bias she is either ignoring or unwilling to admit, which calls her ethics into question in my opinion.

It’s important to note, a study doesn’t definitively prove anything in most cases. Gershoff’s study is no exception. It’s difficult to read the actual paper as it’s $12 and well, frankly I don’t have the desire to support this woman. But Vox did a decent article on it.

http://www.vox.com/2016/4/27/11510118/spanking-children

The article states: ” The size of these negative effects are small, the study notes, and there’s no proof that spanking specifically caused these behaviors later in life.”

Also it states: “For one, researchers can’t conduct spanking experiments where they randomly assign children to be hit. And it’s also possible that “bad” children are just spanked more, and are also generally more aggressive and anti-social throughout their lives.

But Gershoff suspects spanking does lead to these detrimental outcomes. Or, at the very least, she makes the convincing case that spanking doesn’t do any measurable good. ”

This immediately points out the woman’s bias in my opinion. She has conducted a study which doesn’t necessarily prove anything except she, a seemingly biased-against-spanking practitioner of science, could find no positive benefits of spanking. So what does this mean? Literally nothing.

For those who may consider me wrong on that point and consider it an unbiased outcome and somehow conclude the study states that spanking is hugely damaging to children because, well, it’s a scientific study, I’ll direct you to a 2010 study conducted by Marjorie Gunnoe. A woman who is actually also biased against spanking, but was able to draw actual conclusions that spanking is beneficial.

From this article on ScienceBlogs: http://scienceblogs.com/appliedstatistics/2010/01/05/spanking-makes-kids-perform-be/

“The research, by Calvin College psychology professor Marjorie Gunnoe, found that kids smacked before age 6 grew up to be more successful . . . Gunnoe, who interviewed 2,600 people about being smacked, told the [London] Daily Mail: “The claims that are made for not spanking children fail to hold up. I think of spanking as a dangerous tool, but then there are times when there is a job big enough for a dangerous tool. You don’t use it for all your jobs.””

So she not only ADMITS her bias, something Gershoff seems to prance around to maintain her credibility, but points out that there are NOTED benefits to spanking. That to me speaks much more to the subject.

At the end of the day, these are scientific studies. We don’t have to let them rule our lives. Because science is wrong all the time. Like a lot. We live with our children every day and we each do what we feel is best for them (hopefully.) So maybe everybody just chill out and stop calling each other names based on a subject we don’t fully understand.

I see the benefits of spanking every single day. I was spanked, much more than my kids. My sisters and brothers were spanked. All of the 150 members of my family that I’m aware of were spanked. They didn’t grow up to be violent anti social mentally ill subhumans. That’s big enough to be a study group. There’s also the millennials of people who were spanked before them who didn’t burn the world down.

So again, let’s just collectively chill out.

